Kristin's Kaleidoscope Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Happy —–! October 30, 2009

Filed under: Holidays — kristinskaleidoscope @ 10:31 am

birthday-partyHappy Birthday to me! Well on Wednesday of this week but I did not get a chance to blog until today. My sister Karie sent me this youtube of Elvis, thanks Karie.  My little Elvis picked me out a Tinker Bell cake and had his dad help him get it, all on his own! 

Happy Halloween!  I know it is a day early but we got to dress up at work today and I know I will be busy with Elvis tomorrow.  I dressed up in my poodle skirt and saddle shoes, my favorite outfit, to bad I only get to wear it once a year.  BatgirlElvis was sad this morning, he had wanted me to be Batgirl for Halloween to go with his Batman costume.  Maybe I will try to be Batgirl for him tomorrow.

Below is one of my favorite poem about how being a Christian is like carving a pumpkin.  I found it on DTLK growing together website a couple years back and have made it a tradition for when we are carving pumpkins.  Elvis is understanding Halloween more but he is also getting scared of it and I want him to enjoy the dressing up and the pumpkins and the fall harvest more than the scary parts. 

pumpkin
Open my mind so I can learn about You;
(Cut the top of the pumpkin)

Take away all my sin and forgive me for the wrong things I do.
(Clean out the inside)

Open my eyes so Your love I will see;
(Cut the eyes out in heart shapes)

I’m so sorry for turning up my nose to all you’ve given me.
(Cut a nose in the shape of a cross)

Open my ears so your word I will hear.
(Cut the ears shaped like the Bible)-we did rectangles

Open my mouth so I can tell others You’re near
(cut the mouth in the shape of a fish)

Let Your light shine in all I say and do! Amen.
(Place a candle inside and light it)

 

Leave a Reply

